The Thrones of Scripture --Part 6

The Thrones of Scripture
Part 6

A. Naismith

Scripture reading: Revelation 20: 11-16.

The Judge’s Throne:
The Great White Throne.

Here we have the picture of the last assize. Several very salient points should be considered:

The imperial throne: “The kingdoms of this world are become the kingdoms of our God and of His Christ.” This throne is a solitary throne suspended in space. Heaven and earth have fled away. It is a great throne because of the greatness of the Judge, its immensity in space, the innumerable company judged, and the tremendous issues involved. It is a white throne because of its absolute purity and its inflexible parity.

The impartial Judge: Of this Judge we read, “God … hath appointed a day, in which He will judge the world in righteousness by that Man whom He hath ordained; whereof He hath given assurance unto all men, in that He hath raised Him from the dead” (Acts 17:31). “For as the Father hath life in Himself; so hath He given to the Son to have life in Himself; and hath given Him authority to execute judgment also, because He is the Son of Man” (John 5:26-27). He will judge in righteousness, a fair and impartial judgment and as the Son of Man, He will judge the sons of men. “For the time is come that judgment must begin at the House of God; and if it first begin at us, what shall the end be of them that obey not the gospel? And if the righteous scarcely be saved, where shall the ungodly and the sinner appear?” (1 Pet. 4:17-18).

The incriminating records: the words of Solomon are full of meaning, “God shall judge the righteous and the wicked: … that God might manifest (prove) them” (Eccl. 3:1718). God requireth that which is past so books will be opened. What books?

1. The Book of God, The Bible (John 12:47-48).

2. The Book of Works (1 Tim. 5:24).

3. The Book of Life (Rev. 20:18). This is the register of all who have received divine life in and through the Lord Jesus.

The irrevocable sentence: “Who soever was not found written in the Book of Life was cast into the lake of fire” (Rev. 20:15). This is the second death. “The fearful, and unbelieving, and the abominable, and murderers, and whoremongers, and sorcerers, and idolaters, and all liars, shall have their part in the lake which burneth with fire and brimstone: which is the second death” (Rev. 21:8).